QuMat Committees

To ensure that QuMat achieves its scientific breakthroughs and demonstrates scalable and robust quantum materials, QuMat’s organization and governance have been designed to foster a culture of collaboration and free knowledge exchange amongst its researchers.
To reach this goal, QuMat has several committees that provide a flat organization structure with input from all levels.

The Executive board (EB)

The Executive board (EB) consists of the PIs, including Morais Smith and Kimel who succeed Vanmaekelbergh and Katsnelson in term 2. Their involvement from the start ensures continuity in leadership.

The EB is responsible for the success of all aspects of the program and consortium and decides on strategic matters regarding the scientific research program, knowledge transfer and the education and career-development programs. Each EB member is responsible for one or more aspects of the program management.

In term 1, Vanmaekelbergh and Katsnelson are chair and vice-chair of the EB and responsible for overall coordination of the QuMat program. In term 2, Morais Smith and Kuipers will assume these roles.

Minutes from the EB are found here.

The Societal Impact committee (SIC)

The Societal Impact committee (SIC) is responsible for translating the knowledge developed in QuMat to interested target audiences. It will develop a communication and implementation plan and organize activities and events aimed at informing and involving interested industries, scientists and the general public. When needed, it will ask advice from the ISOAC.

The Talent committee (TC)

The Talent committee (TC) is responsible for developing the education program, and the career development program. It will seek frequent advice from the PhD/PD council.

The PhD/PD council

A PhD/PD council of 6 PhD students and postdocs represents the young researchers. They will advise and act as sounding board for the EB and will appoint two representatives as member of the talent committee, ensuring that the interests of the young researchers are taken into account in the consortium’s policies and education program.

The PhD/PD council proposes scientific topics and personal development skills to incorporate in the education program and organizes teambuilding and career development activities.

At the start of the program, the PhD/PD council will choose an independent counselor for the PhD students and postdocs in case of work-related or personal problems. Ze will act as mediator in case of conflicts.

The Supervisory Board (SB)

The Supervisory Board (SB) comprises high-level representatives from each participating university (university board member/deans of faculties). The SB formally appoints the EB members. It monitors the evolution of the program and financial management and forms the formal link between the EB and the boards of the participating universities.

The Scientific advisory committee (SAC)

The Scientific advisory committee (SAC) advises the EB on scientific quality and strategy. It is composed of national and international scientists in (nano)material science and quantum physics.

SAC Members

MPI Dresden




MPI Dresden




Aalto University


Princeton University


Thors Hans Hansson



The Industrial and Societal Advisory Committee (ISOAC)

The Industrial and Societal Advisory Committee (ISOAC) advises the EB on all aspects regarding knowledge utilization and outreach. It is therefore a broad committee representing the full range of target audiences with representatives from academic and applied research institutes and interested companies.

ISOAC Members

Paola Gori-Giorgi


Val Zwiller

Single Quantum

Scroll to Top